All Information About UPSC Civil Service Examination

Today, We are going to know about UPSC Civil Service Examination (CSE).The Civil Services Examination (CSE) is a nationwide competitive examination in India conducted by the UPSC for recruitment of various Civil Services of the Government of India. It includes the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Police Service (IPS) and various other services.UPSC Civil Services exam is conducted in 3 phases :-



Eligibility Criteria :-

Nationality :

For IAS & IPS Services Candidate must be indian. For other services candidate from Nepal,Bhutan,Tibetan etc are also accepted.

Educational Qualification :

Graduation From from a Central, State or a Deemed university.

A degree received through correspondence or distance education.

A degree from an open university.

Age :

Minimum age :

candidate must have at least 21 years of age on 1st August of that given year when the exam is held.

Maximum age :

Upper age limit for General category: 32 years.
Upper age limit for OBC: 35 years.
Upper age limit for SC/ST: 37 Years.
Number of attempts :

For IAS exam: General Category: 6 attempts till 32 years of age.
For IAS exam: OBC: 9 attempts till 35 years of age.
For IAS exam: SC/ST: unlimited attempts till 37 years of age.
Note : If you filled up the UPSC application form but didn’t go to take the Preliminary Exam, your attempt will not be Counted.
List of Services :- There are about 24 services which come under the Civil Services Exam conducted by UPSC every year. Following are the services which one gets on qualifying the Civil Service Examination.

All India Services :

Indian Administrative Service (IAS)
Indian Police Service(IPS)
Indian Foreign Service (IFS)
Central Services (Group A) :

Indian P&T Accounts and Finance Service
Indian Audit and Accounts Service
Indian Civil Accounts Service
Indian Corporate Law Service
Indian Defence Accounts Service
Indian Defence Estates Service
Indian Information Service
Indian Ordnance Factories Service
Indian Postal Service
Indian Railway Accounts Service
Indian Railway Personnel Service
Indian Railway Traffic Service
Indian Revenue Service
Indian Revenue Service
Indian Trade Service
Railway Protection Force
Group B Services :

Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service
Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Civil Service
Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Police Service
Pondicherry Civil Service
Pondicherry Police Service
Phases of Examination :-

Prelims Examination : There are two papers in Civil Service Prelims Examination. The questions are objective in nature.It is an offline exam.

General Studies Paper 1 [Contains subjects like History, Polity, Economics etc.]
General Studies Paper 2 [Contains subjects like Mental Ability, English,Comprehension etc.]
Note :

Total Marks - 400

Number of Questions - Paper 1 : 80 ; Paper 2 : 100 

Time - 2 hours each

Pass Marks - Candidates will have to score a minimum of 33 % to qualify for the exam.

Mains Examination : IAS Mains is further divided into two types - Qualifying Exam and Merit Exam.

Two papers will be of qualifying nature. It means you have to pass in these papers. Marks of these two paper is not counted for final Ranking.
Seven papers will be of Merit nature which is counted for final ranking. It contains Two papers on one subject to be selected by the candidate from the list of optional subjects given.It Contains Total - 1750 Marks
IAS Mains is also an offline exam. Each paper will carry 250 marks. 
Each paper is of 3 hours.
Questions will be both - objective and subjective in nature. They will be given in both Hindi and English language.
Interview : All candidates qualifying the Mains examination will proceed towards the Interview.The objective of the interview is to assess the personal suitability of the candidate for a career in public service by a Board of competent and unbiased observers. He will be asked questions on matters of general interest.

This test will be conducted in the language of choice. 
The interview will be graded for 275 marks. 
The test is intended to judge the mental caliber of a candidate.
The rank list will be prepared based on marks scored out of 2025.

Total Marks = Mains Marks (out of 1750) + Interview Marks (out of 275)

Grand Total ( for merit calculation) = 2025 Marks